One audit report label
Both the FY2016/17 and FY2017/18 Director of Audit reports list SSDF’s latest audited report received as “2016.”
Independent official evidence · mapped to FY2015/16 as a working conventionSaint Lucia Social Development Fund · FY2006/07–FY2025/26
A media account says the Prime Minister reported FY2016/17 and FY2017/18 audits completed in March 2023. Separately, the Director of Audit independently confirms a latest received label of 2016. The signed statements, opinions and complete parliamentary trail remain unlocated online. This tracker keeps those evidence levels distinct.
The short answer
A media account says the Prime Minister reported FY2016/17 and FY2017/18 completed in March 2023. Two older Director of Audit reports separately say the latest SSDF audited report received at their cutoffs was 2016. These are compatible dated records, not proof of the underlying files: neither public source supplies the signed statements, opinions or both-chamber trail. The Parliament portal returned a site error during the 31 August check, so zero packages means not located in the accessible source set, not a complete census of Parliament’s internal records.
Both the FY2016/17 and FY2017/18 Director of Audit reports list SSDF’s latest audited report received as “2016.”
Independent official evidence · mapped to FY2015/16 as a working conventionFY2016/17 and FY2017/18 were said to be completed in March 2023. The files and opinions were not published with the update.
Reported ministerial claim · underlying packages still neededThe SSDF report page exposes one 32-page activity report. Audited statements and an auditor’s opinion were not located with it.
Narrative programme recordRecent audit files, Board submission, minister receipt, House tabling, Senate tabling and complete public packages need a verified register.
Public record still incomplete20-year public-record matrix
Select a year to inspect the exact claim behind every cell. Filter by a gate to compare one part of the reporting chain across all 20 labels.
On smaller screens, scroll sideways to review every evidence gate.
| Fiscal year | AuditAnnual audit | DoADirector of Audit receipt | MinisterMinister receipt | HouseHouse of Assembly | SenateSenate | PublicPublic package |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| —Not located | !Not received | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| —Not located | !Not received | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| —Not located | !Not received | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| —Not located | !Not received | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| ✓Confirmed | ✓Confirmed | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| RPM reported | ↺2016 still latest | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| RPM reported | ↺2016 still latest | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | NNarrative only | |
| —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | |
| —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located | —Not located |
Fiscal-year mapping: The official tables use bare report labels, so “2016” is mapped cautiously to FY2015/16 as a working convention.
When the legal duty began
The “Revised Laws 2023” label names the online edition. The SSDF Act took effect on 27 April 1998. A 2002 instrument retrospectively commenced it from that date. The 2009 rename and 2019 amendment did not change sections 20 or 21.
Keep proper accounts, prepare the annual statement and approve the reporting package.
Section 20 names a Board-appointed auditor with ministerial approval. The later PFM Act routes statements to the Director of Audit or a firm hired by the Director. The current protocol should reconcile both.
The Board sends audited accounts and an annual report on the Fund’s work and policy.
The minister causes the annual report, audited accounts and auditor’s report to be tabled in the House and Senate.
Publication is the practical final step: one indexed package with period, opinion, dates and links.
Do not reduce this chain to the Prime Minister alone. Section 21 is Board → responsible minister → House and Senate. The finance minister has system-wide PFM oversight. The auditor, Director of Audit, Accountant General and parliamentary offices each hold distinct records that can settle different stages.
Statutory bodies are now expressly inside the procurement framework. Act 1 of 2026 took effect on 19 February and assigns the enabling Board functions for procedure, approval, award and contract execution. For an SSDF auditor engagement, publish the Board procedure, approval to procure, selection and award record, appointment resolution, ministerial approval and engagement authority. Source L8 ↗
Evidence timeline
Act 7 of 1998 took effect on 27 April 1998. Sections 20 and 21 sit in the original audit-and-reporting architecture.
An official Prime Minister’s statement invoked section 21 and announced that a statutory PRF audited report would be laid in the House, alongside a separate Director of Audit review. This record does not establish a Senate date.
S.I. 118/2002 was made and published in 2002, deeming the 1998 Act in force from 27 April 1998. It did not create a new audit duty in 2002 or 2023.
Act 4 of 2009 renamed the institution. It did not alter sections 20 or 21.
The Director of Audit reported requesting 2007–2010 statements and auditor reports; SSDF was not among the nine bodies recorded as received by 31 March 2011.
Two later Director of Audit reports identify 2016 as SSDF’s latest audited report received.
The FY2016/17 and FY2017/18 status tables continued to show 2016. Exact receipt and audit dates were not stated.
A media account says the Prime Minister reported in August 2026 that the FY2016/17 and FY2017/18 audits were completed in March 2023. The signed files, opinions and tabling dates were not published with that account.
Act 23 of 2019 amended the SSDF Act but did not alter sections 20 or 21.
The Public Finance Management Act took effect on 4 December 2020, adding statutory-body reporting and audit duties.
SSDF’s public page exposes one 32-page narrative report. No audited statements or auditor opinion were located with it.
Government cited missing supporting documents, said older years may result in what the Prime Minister called ‘qualified statements’ and targeted outstanding and newer statements for completion by the end of 2026. Only an auditor’s signed report can establish the opinion and its exact basis. The tracker records material located through 31 August.
Four types of public record
A complete reporting package lets a reader connect service delivery, financial statements, independent assurance and parliamentary accountability. One document cannot do all four jobs.
What it answersWhat the Fund says it did: programmes, projects, beneficiaries and activity.
What it cannot prove aloneIt does not by itself give independent assurance on the financial statements.
What it answersThe Fund’s financial position, results, cash flows and notes for a defined period.
What it cannot prove aloneWithout the opinion, readers cannot see the auditor’s conclusion or qualifications.
What it answersWho audited, what period and standards applied, and whether the statements are fairly presented.
What it cannot prove aloneAn audit opinion is not a guarantee that every transaction was proper or that fraud cannot exist.
What it answersWhen the package entered the House and Senate record and under whose authority.
What it cannot prove aloneA tabling notice is not the audit itself; it proves delivery into the parliamentary record.
“2016” confirms that a report with that label was received. It does not disclose the exact accounting period, auditor, opinion, signing date or findings.
It may reflect a publication gap, an internal record, a parliamentary archive gap, an unfinished audit or a record that was never created. Primary documents are needed to tell the difference.
Section 21 names both chambers. A complete tracker records each date separately and links the order paper, minutes or other authoritative record.
An opinion provides reasonable assurance on defined statements. It does not guarantee that every transaction was proper, and a delayed audit does not itself prove misuse.
A practical path forward
The first goal is not blame. It is to reconcile what exists, finish what does not, table what the law requires, and make the chain easy to verify every year.
Source register and method
SLPA checked official legislation, Director of Audit reports, the SSDF publication page, the Government's audit update, reported ministerial detail and the public parliamentary portal. The evidence cutoff is 31 August 2026.
Office of the Director of Audit, Saint Lucia · Checked 31 August 2026
Public archive used to locate the annual reports and test public availability.Office of the Director of Audit, Saint Lucia · 2011 · statutory-body section, PDF pp. 126–128
Records the March 2011 request for 2007–2010 statements and reports; SSDF was not among the nine bodies listed as received by the cutoff.Office of the Director of Audit, Saint Lucia · 2017 · p. 56
Lists SSDF’s ‘Last Audited Report Received’ as 2016.Office of the Director of Audit, Saint Lucia · 2018 · p. 93
Again lists SSDF’s ‘Last Audited Report Received’ as 2016.Saint Lucia Social Development Fund · Checked 31 August 2026
The public page exposed one 2022–2023 narrative report in SLPA’s check.Saint Lucia Social Development Fund · 2023 · 32 pages
Narrative programme report; audited statements and an auditor opinion were not located with it.Attorney General’s Chambers · Current consolidation checked 14 August 2026
Act 7 of 1998 in force 27 April 1998; amendments in 2002, 2009 and 2019.Attorney General’s Chambers · Current consolidation checked 14 August 2026
Annual accounts and audit by an auditor appointed by the Board with ministerial approval.Attorney General’s Chambers · Current consolidation checked 14 August 2026
Board submission within four months and ministerial tabling in both chambers.Attorney General’s Chambers · In force 4 December 2020
Adds three-month statutory-body account submissions and a House performance statement based on audited statements.Attorney General’s Chambers · Current consolidation checked 14 August 2026
Requires an external auditor to send the Director of Audit the annual statements and reports with dispatch.Attorney General’s Chambers · Current consolidation checked 14 August 2026
Defines a statutory body’s financial year as the 12 months ending 31 March.Attorney General’s Chambers · Current consolidation checked 14 August 2026
Provides that the PFM Act prevails to the extent of conflict with another enactment.National Printing Corporation · Government of Saint Lucia · In force 19 February 2026
Expressly brings statutory bodies into the procurement framework and gives their enabling Boards procedure, approval, award and execution functions. The auditor procurement and appointment records remain necessary before assessing a specific engagement.Parliament of Saint Lucia · Checked 31 August 2026
The public portal returned a site error during the 31 August check, limiting year-specific verification. That access failure is not evidence that a tabling record does not exist.Government Information Service · Government of Saint Lucia · 12 August 2026
Says the Board is working with auditors, cites supporting-document problems and targets outstanding statements for completion by end-2026; it does not publish the audit files.Caribbean Media Corporation · Caribbean Today · 13 August 2026
Reports that FY2016/17 and FY2017/18 audits were completed in March 2023 and that later statements are targeted for end-2026.Government of Saint Lucia archive · 16 May 2000
Invokes section 21 and announces House laying of the statutory audited report; a Senate date was not verified from this record.Saint Lucia Policy Analysis · 21 August 2026
Positive claims require a source; an official account and an underlying primary file are recorded as different evidence levels; absence is reported as ‘not located,’ never automatically as ‘not done.’Questions people are asking
No. It shows evidence located through 31 August 2026. A media account reports the Prime Minister saying two periods were completed in March 2023, while an older Director of Audit record independently confirms the bare label 2016. ‘Not located’ is an evidence status, not a finding that an audit, submission or tabling never happened.
Two Director of Audit reports list SSDF’s ‘Last Audited Report Received’ as 2016. Those tables do not state the exact accounting period, audit date, auditor, opinion, receipt date, minister submission, House date, Senate date or public file location.
A media account says the Prime Minister reported in August 2026 that both audits were completed in March 2023. The tracker records that as a reported ministerial claim, a distinct evidence status. The public source set still does not contain the signed statements, auditor reports, opinions or complete parliamentary tabling trail needed to verify the files independently.
Not on the evidence located. The 32-page report describes programmes and activity, but SLPA did not locate an auditor’s opinion or audited financial statements with it. A narrative report and an audit package answer different questions.
Section 21 gives the Board the duty to send the audited accounts and annual report to the responsible minister within four months. The responsible minister then causes the annual report, audited accounts and auditor’s report to be tabled in both the House and Senate. The PFM Act also gives the finance minister system-wide oversight roles. Responsibility should not be reduced to one person or one office.
No. The underlying Act took effect on 27 April 1998. The 2023 label on the Attorney General’s website is the revised-laws edition. The 2009 rename and 2019 amendment did not alter sections 20 or 21.
The matrix uses the Government’s April-to-March fiscal year as a working convention: the bare audit label ‘2016’ maps cautiously to FY2015/16, while the narrative label ‘2022–2023’ maps to FY2022/23. The original labels remain visible because the located record does not always supply exact period dates.
A single verified register linking each reporting period to the audited statements, signed auditor opinion, Board submission date, minister receipt date, House tabling date, Senate tabling date and public file. Where a step is incomplete, the register should say so plainly and give the recovery date.